Teenage Wildlife

1. Outside - The Album

* * * * * 4.60 out of 5 (488 votes)

Songs (Time)

All songs written by Bowie/Eno except Leon Takes Us Outside, The Hearts Filthy Lesson, Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette), Algeria Touchshriek, I Am With Name, Nathan Adler by Bowie, Eno, Gabrels, Garson, Kizilcay and Campbell, Outside by Armstrong and Bowie, A Small Plot Of Land by Bowie, Eno, Gabrels, Garson, and Kizilcay, Voyeur Of Utter Destruction (As Beauty) by Bowie, Eno and Gabrels, Thru' These Architect's Eyes by Bowie and Gabrels, and Strangers When We Meet by Bowie.

  1. Leon Takes Us Outside (1:25)
  2. Outside (4:04)
  3. The Heart's Filthy Lesson (4:57)
  4. A Small Plot of Land (6:34)
  5. Segue Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette) (1:39)
  6. Hallo Spaceboy (5:14)
  7. The Motel (6:49)
  8. I Have Not Been To Oxford Town (3:47)
  9. No Control (4:33)
  10. Segue Algeria Touchschriek (2:03)
  11. Voyeur of Utter Destruction (As Beauty) (4:21)
  12. Segue I Am With Name (4:01)
  13. Wishful Beginnings (5:08)
  14. We Prick You (4:33)
  15. Segue Nathan Adler (1:00)
  16. I'm Deranged (4:31)
  17. Thru These Architect's Eyes (4:22)
  18. Segue Nathan Adler (0:28)
  19. Strangers When We Meet (5:07)

    Bonus Japanese track

  20. Get Real (2:49)

1. Outside Version 2

The album was rereleased as 1. Outside Version 2, which itself came in two different versions. In some countries, it simply deleted Wishful Beginnings from the tracklist, but added the Pet Shop Boys remix of Hallo Spaceboy. In other countries (e.g. Australia), an entire bonus disc was issued, which contained the following tracks.

  1. Hallo Spaceboy (Pet Shop Boys remix)
  2. Under Pressure (live version)
  3. Moonage Daydream (live version)
  4. The Man Who Sold The World (live version)
  5. Strangers When We Meet (radio edit)
  6. The Heart's Filthy Lesson (Bowie mix)
Release details (for 1. Outside)
Released by Virgin Records (USA), September 26, 1995
David Bowie and Brian Eno
Co-produced and engineered by David Richards
David Bowie: vocals, saxophone, guitar, keyboards
Brian Eno: synthesizers, treatments, strategies
Reeves Gabrels: guitar
Erdal Kizilcay: bass, keyboards
Mike Garson: grand piano
Sterling Campbell: drums
Carlos Alomar: rhythm guitar
Joey Barron: drums
Yossi Fine: bass
Tom Frish: additional guitar on Strangers When We Meet
Kevin Armstrong: additional guitar on Thru' These Architect's Eyes
Bryony, Lola, Josey and Ruby Edwards: backing vocals on The Heart's Filthy Lesson and I Am With Name
Assistant Engineers
Ben Fenner, Andy Grassi, Jon Goldberger, Domonik
Album Design & Image Manipulation
Album Cover Concept
David Bowie and Denovo
Front Cover Painting
"Head of DB" (11"x11") acrylic on canvas 1995 by David Bowie
John Scarisbrick
Jennifer Elster
Recorded at Mountain Studios, Switzerland
Mixed and additional treatments by David Richards, assisted by David Bowie
Mastered by David Richards and Kevin Metcalfe at The Town House Digital Mastering Studio, London


Teenage Wildlife Home Page Bowie's music Info on Bowie Other Media Have your say! Search the Site Help me!

Toolbar (music)

This document last updated Thursday, 05-Dec-2002 04:49:42 EST
Etete Systems