Teenage Wildlife

Space Oddity - The Album

* * * * 3.79 out of 5 (201 votes)
Philips cover
Original Philips gatefold sleeve with David Bowie title
Contributed by Ruud

This was originally released in the UK as David Bowie, which was very confusing since his original debut album was also called David Bowie. When it was rereleased November 1, 1972, the album was retitled Space Oddity.

Songs (Time)

All songs written by David Bowie.
  1. Space Oddity (5:14)
  2. Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed (6:10)
  3. Don't Sit Down (0:39) * deleted from the album when it was rereleased as Space Oddity
  4. Letter To Hermione (2:30)
  5. Cygnet Committee (9:30)
  6. Janine (3:19)
  7. An Occasional Dream (2:56)
  8. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (4:47)
  9. God Knows I'm Good (3:16)
  10. Memory Of A Free Festival (7:07)

    Bonus tracks on RykoDisc release

  11. Conversation Piece (3:05) 1970 B-side of Prettiest Star
  12. Memory Of A Free Festival Part 1 (3:59)
  13. Memory Of A Free Festival Part 2 (3:31) 1970 single version
Release details
Released 1969 as David Bowie (in the UK), Man of Words/Man of Music (in the USA), rereleased 1972 as Space Oddity
Original release by Mercury
Rerelease on CD by RykoDisc 1990 with bonus tracks
Tony Visconti except Space Oddity produced by Gus Dudgeon
David Bowie: vocals, guitar, stylophone
Rick Wakeman: keyboards
Terry Cox: drums
Tim Renwick: guitar
Keith Christmas: guitar
Mick Wayne: guitar
Tony Visconti: bass, flute, recorder
Herbie Flowers: bass
Benny Marshall and Friends: harmonica
Paul Buckmaster: cello

Bonus track details

All three bonus tracks written by David Bowie and produced by Tony Visconti.


Teenage Wildlife Home Page Bowie's music Info on Bowie Other Media Have your say! Search the Site Help me!

Toolbar (music)

This document last updated Thursday, 05-Dec-2002 04:49:42 EST
Etete Systems